The Goal Is The Journey…

4 thoughts on “The Goal Is The Journey…”

  1. Beautiful sketch, Lisa!! The epitome of essence. Please do more. Such work should sell. Truly. Is there a ‘Painting a Day’ movement in Australia as here in the US? Some of these folks sell a boatload of work–as in, make a living at it. Thanks for sharing this segment of your creative side–breathtakingly beautiful.

    1. Oh thats so sweet of you Lane… Willsy certainly is an essence, she is the definition of cat magic for sure! As for my lack of funds one day I will win the lottery…I am just hoping that day comes sooner rather than later…

  2. Lisa, you have a real talent for sketching! The lines are so zen! I love it! Thanks for sharing.

    Seeing your sketch and hearing your thoughts has brought a precious memory to my mind – of watching a group of art students sketching under a lamplight, long after the sun had gone down. We were sitting on the banks of the Ganges in Varanasi, a very spiritual and peaceful place and such places, including mountains, I always feel at home. The students were totally absorbed, they were lost, forgetting themselves, and that is how it is with a camera when you’re in that frame of mind and how you felt when you were sketching Wills, no doubt. Here’s the image I took of them:

    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.45549841173.66327.619401173#!/photo.php?fbid=420173906173&set=a.45549841173.66327.619401173&type=1&theater

    Is sketching for the middle class? I’m not so sure. Think about your aboriginal friends and I’ll think about my Bushmen! Maybe it has become middle class in our cultures because the vast majority just don’t have the time – everyone is nose to the grindstone making that dime.

    Reading your words brought two quotes to mind. Lao Tzu said: “A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.” And “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” according to Eleanor Roosevelt. I think the Lao Tzu’s quote also applies to life and as for the second, it seems to me that we sometimes are afraid of achieving our dreams or we loose sight of them along the way…

    Never give up on your dreams Lisa, and give Wills a stroke from me!!

    Big hug, Jenny

    PS It’s tough to go against the mainstream and to religiously follow your dreams. The key is not to give up and I will never forget the time I mentioned it to you and you encouraged me. Thank you Lisa, always. xx

  3. Life is a journey and death is the inevitable destination. Each day we live prepares us a little more for the days we have left to live. Each day we roll the dice and make our decisions based on the numbers that fate chooses. It’s all a game and we either play, or get played. So roll the dice again, Lisa; and keep rolling them. Keep playing the game.

    As a result of our previous conversation I thought very carefully about what I want out of photography and things became a little clearer. Of course, I don’t have a definitive answer because there isn’t one; the horizon is always receding; like Zeno’s arrow, only half the remaining distance is covered, then half of that and on to infinity and the final oblivion. But regardless of how much one has in the bank, one thing is certain; tomorrow you will be richer for what you have experienced today. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

